Skip to content

25 London Assembly members announced

9th May 2012

All 25 candidates who have been elected as London Assembly Members for the next four years have now been announced.

Each voter could vote for an individual candidate to represent their constituency, as well as for a party or independent candidate to represent the whole of London.

Eleven seats on the London Assembly are allocated to parties or independent candidates based on their London-wide share of the vote. Only parties securing more than 5% of the vote are eligible for a seat.

The Greater London Returning Officer has announced the votes for each party or independent candidate, and the seats they have been allocated. The elected candidates – in the order the seats were allocated - are:

  1. Jenny Jones; Green Party
  2. Caroline Pidgeon; London Liberal Democrats
  3. Nicky Gavron; Labour Party
  4. Andrew Boff; Conservative Party
  5. Darren Johnson; Green Party
  6. Murad Qureshi; Labour Party
  7. Gareth Bacon; Conservative Party
  8. Fiona Twycross; Labour Party
  9. Victoria Borwick; Conservative Party
  10. Tom Copley; Labour Party
  11. Stephen Knight; London Liberal Democrats

A full breakdown of votes for each party or independent can be found on

A further fourteen members of the London Assembly are elected on a constituency basis. The constituencies and the candidates they elected are set out below:

  • Barnet & Camden: Andrew Hartley Dismore (Labour Party)
  • Bexley & Bromley: James Spencer Cleverly (Conservative Party)
  • Brent & Harrow:  Navin Shah (Labour Party)
  • City & East: John Robert Briggs (Labour Party)
  • Croydon & Sutton: Stephen John O’Connell (Conservative Party)
  • Ealing & Hillingdon: Onkar Singh Sahota (Labour Party)
  • Enfield & Haringey: Joanne McCartney (Labour Party)
  • Greenwich & Lewisham: Len Duvall (Labour Party)
  • Havering & Redbridge: Roger Evans (Conservative Party)
  • Lambeth & Southwark: Val Shawcross (Labour Party)
  • Merton & Wandsworth: Richard Patrick Tracey (Conservative Party)
  • North East: Jennette Arnold (Labour Party)
  • South West: Tony Arbour (Conservative Party)
  • West Central: Kit Malthouse (Conservative Party)

For a full breakdown of all the Mayoral and Assembly results, go to


All languages