Skip to content

The final countdown!

28th April 2016

London Election just seven days away

On Thursday the 5th of May 2016 more than five million Londoners will make their way to polling stations across the capital to elect a new Mayor of London and 25 London Assembly Members.[1]

The results of this election will determine how London will be governed from City Hall for the next four years.

•      Count Day is Friday the 6th of May.

•      Constituency declarations to be made at count centres: Olympia, Alexandra Palace, ExCel.

•      Media centre and declaration of Mayoral and London wide Assembly Member results at City Hall.

•      Vote progress on

Important times:  These apply to both the Mayor and the London Assembly.

Voting:                                    Thursday 5 May 2016 (polling stations open from 7am to 10pm)

Count commences:                  Friday 6 May (8am)

For more information please contact the London Elects media office

London Elects Head of Media Relations:

Alison Bell - 07887 832 918 or 020 7983 4228 – City Hall

[email protected]   

Follow us on Twitter @londonelects  #LondonVotes

Notes to editors

  1. This unique form of local government represents the interests of London and Londoners.

London has one Mayor and 25 Assembly Members. The Mayor of London is responsible for running the city, from policing and housing to environment and transport.

The Assembly keeps a check on the Mayor’s work and investigates issues that matter to Londoners.

  1. As of 22 April 2016, there were 5,732,652 registered voters in Greater London.
  2. To find out more, visit:


All languages