Skip to content

London elects Sadiq Khan as Mayor of London

7th May 2016

The Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO) has announced that Sadiq Khan (Labour Party) has been elected the Mayor of London for the next four years. 

The GLRO announced the result of the Mayoral election at City Hall.

No candidate received more than 50 per cent of the first preference votes, so all but the top two candidates were eliminated. Second preference votes for the top two candidates were then taken into account, and the candidate with the most combined first and second preference votes was declared the winner. 

The first and second preference votes for each of the 12 candidates and the full breakdown of the Mayoral and Assembly results can be found at

For more information please contact the London Elects Media Office. 

London Elects Head of Media Relations:

Alison Bell - 07887 832 918 or 020 7983 4228 – City Hall
[email protected]    
Follow us on Twitter @londonelects



Notes to editors

  1. London Elects is the independent body responsible – under the direction of the Greater London Returning Officer (GLRO) – for delivering and encouraging participation in the Mayor of London and London Assembly elections.
  2. London Elects is part of the Greater London Authority, but is operationally independent. It has a separate budget and reports directly to the GLRO.
  3. The GLRO for this election is Jeffrey Jacobs. 


All languages