

2000 election results for the Mayor of London and the London Assembly

The 2000 Mayor of London election results

If there are only two candidates, the Mayor of London is elected using the First Past the Post system. The candidate with the most votes wins.

If there are three or more candidates running for Mayor, the Supplementary Vote system is used to ensure the candidate with the broadest amount of support from London is elected. In this system, voters can cast a first and second choice vote.

If a candidate receives more than half of all the first choice votes they are elected. If this does not happen, the top two candidates with the most first choice votes go through to a second round. All other candidates are eliminated, but the second choice votes on their ballot papers are looked at. If they are for either of the top two candidates, these second choices are added to their totals. The candidate with the highest total of first and second choice votes wins. If there is a tie then the Greater London Returning Officer draws lots.

Name	Party	1st choice*	% 1st choice	2nd choice*	Final total
Ken Livingstone	Independent	667,877	38.96	108,550	776,427
Steve Norris	Conservative	464,434	27.09	99,703	564,137
Frank Dobson	Labour	223,884	13.06		
Susan Kramer	Liberal Democrat	203,452	11.87		
Ram Gidoomal	Christian Peoples Alliance	42,060	2.45		
Darren Johnson	Green	38,121	2.22		
Michael Newland	British National Party	33,569	1.96		
Damian Hockney	UK Independence Party	16,234	0.95		
Geoffrey Ben- Nathan	Pro-Motorist Small Shop	9,956	0.58		
Ashwin Kumar Tanna	Independent	9,015	0.53		
Geoffrey Clements	Natural Law Party	5,470	0.32		

* These numbers reflect the number of valid votes and do not include those ballot papers which were spoilt.

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

2000 Constituency Assembly results

The 14 Constituency Assembly Members are elected using the First Past the Post system, so that the candidate in each constituency with the most votes is elected. If there is a tie, the Constituency Returning Officer draws lots to choose the winner.

Constituency	Candidate	Party
Barnet & Camden	Brian Coleman	Conservative Party
Bexley & Bromley	Robert Neill	Conservative Party
Brent & Harrow	Toby Harris	Labour Party
City & East	John Biggs	Labour Party
Croydon & Sutton	Andrew Pelling	Conservative Party
Ealing & Hillingdon	Richard Barnes	Conservative Party
Enfield & Haringey	Nicky Gavron	Labour Party
Greenwich & Lewisham	Leonard Duvall	Labour Party
Havering & Redbridge	Jeremy Evans	Conservative Party
Lambeth & Southwark	Valerie Shawcross	Labour Party
Merton & Wandsworth	Elizabeth Howlett	Conservative Party
North East	Meg Hillier	Labour Party
South West	Tony Arbour	Conservative Party
West Central	Angela Bray	Conservative Party

2000 London-wide Assembly Member votes

To allocate the London-wide Assembly Member seats, the Modified d'Hondt Formula is used, which takes into account all of the votes cast in the London-wide and Constituency Assembly Member contests.

To be included in this calculation, each political party or independent candidate must receive five per cent of the total number of London-wide votes cast, or they are eliminated. The below calculation is then carried out for each party, for each of the 11 seats. The party with the highest result at each round is allocated the seat.

Total number of votes won

Seats already won (including constituency seats) + 1

The parties allocate the seats they have won to the candidates in the order they appear on their nomination list.

Political party	Number of London- wide votes	% of London- wide votes	Included in seat allocation? (Do they have more than 5% of the vote?)	Number of constituency seats won
British National Party	47,670	2.9	×	0
Campaign Against Tube Privatisation	17,401	1.0	×	0
Christian Peoples Alliance	55,192	3.3	×	0
Communist Party of Britain	7,489	0.5	×	0
Conservative Party	481,053	29.0	\checkmark	8
Green Party	183,910	11.1	\checkmark	0
Independent (Peter Tatchell)	22,862	1.4	×	0
Labour Party	502,874	30.3	\checkmark	6
Liberal Democrat	245,555	14.8	\checkmark	0
London Socialist Alliance	27,073	1.6	×	0
Pro-Motorist, Small Shop	13,248	0.8	×	0
Natural Law Party	7,559	0.5	×	0
Socialist Labour Party	13,690	0.8	×	0
UK Independence Party	34,054	2.1	×	0

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk 3 of 5

2000 London-wide Assembly Member seat allocation

Seat	Conservative	Green Party	Labour Party	Liberal	Winner
Seal	Party	Green Farty		Democrat	winner
Seat 1	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Liberal
	(8+1) =	(0+1) =	(6+1) =	(0+1) =	Democrat
	()		` ,	x y	
	53,450	183,910	71,839	245,555	
Seat 2	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Green Party
	(8+1) =	(0+1) =	(6+1) =	(1+1) =	
	53,450	183,910	71,839	122,778	
Seat 3	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Liberal
	(8+1) =	(1+1) =	(6+1) =	(1+1) =	Democrat
	53,450	91,955	71,839	122,778	
Seat 4	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Green Party
Jeal 4	(8+1) =	(1+1) =	(6+1) =	(2+1) =	Oreen raity
	(011) =	(111) -	(011) =	(211) =	
	53,450	91,955	71,839	81,852	
Seat 5	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Liberal
	(8+1) =	(2+1) =	(6+1) =	(2+1) =	Democrat
	53,450	61,303	71,839	81,852	
Seat 6	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Labour Party
	(8+1) =	(2+1) =	(6+1) =	(3+1) =	
	53,450	61,303	71,839	61,389	
Seat 7	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Labour Party
00017	(8+1) =	(2+1) =	(7+1) =	(3+1) =	Labourrany
	(0.1)	(= · · ·)	()	(0.1)	
	53,450	61,303	62,859	61,389	
Seat 8	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Liberal
	(8+1) =	(2+1) =	(8+1) =	(3+1) =	Democrat
• •	53,450	61,303	55,875	61,389	
Seat 9	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Green Party
	(8+1) =	(2+1) =	(8+1) =	(4+1) =	
	53,450	61,303	55,875	49,111	
Seat 10	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Labour Party
	(8+1) =	(3+1) =	(8+1) =	(4+1) =	
		(011) -	(011) -	(+++) -	
	53,450	45,978	55,875	49,111	
Seat 11	481,053 /	183,910 /	502,874 /	245,555 /	Conservative
	(8+1) =	(3+1) =	(9+1) =	(4+1) =	Party
	50.450	45.070	50.007	10.111	
Tatal	53,450	45,978	50,287	49,111	
Total	1	3	3	4	
seats					

London Elects, City Hall, The Queen's Walk, London SE1 2AA Tel: 020 7983 4444 / info@londonelects.org.uk

The Office of the Greater London Returning Officer

2000 London-wide Assembly Members elected

Seat	Party	Candidate
Seat 1	Liberal Democrat	Sally Hamwee
Seat 2	Green Party	Darren Johnson
Seat 3	Liberal Democrat	Graham Tope
Seat 4	Green Party	Victor Anderson
Seat 5	Liberal Democrat	Lynne Featherstone
Seat 6	Labour Party	Trevor Phillips
Seat 7	Labour Party	Samantha Heath
Seat 8	Liberal Democrat	Louise Bloom
Seat 9	Green Party	Jenny Jones
Seat 10	Labour Party	David Lammy
Seat 11	Conservative Party	Eric Ollerenshaw